Instant Mashed Potatoes… In Twenty Minutes

Today’s post is inspired by The Bloggess and my own overly logical brain.

The other day, I decided to be helpful and make dinner. As you can presume from the headline, one of the items that I made was instant mashed potatoes, which turned out to be not so instant. I read the instructions/recipe which told me the following:

1. Measure 2 cups boiling water into serving bowl

2. Add pouch of Idahoan Potatoes all at once, using a fork to moisten all potatoes. Let stand 1 minute.

3. Stir well and serve.

That sounds simple enough, right? So I put around 3 or 4 cups of water into a pot to heat up. While that was heating, I pulled out a bowl and the measuring cup to get them ready. At this point, I realized that the measuring cup was glass and warning bells went off in my head. Those bells typically tell me that I need to ask Jason for advice or suffer the consequences. So I did.

Me: Can I measure this boiling water using the glass measuring cup?

Jason: No. The measuring cup will break. (see, the warning bells are usually right. That would have been messy)

Me: So how do I measure the boiling water for the potatoes?

Jason: *blank stare* (these stares typically mean that my overly logical brain is trumping common sense)

Me: Do we have another measuring cup that I am forgetting about (as I open the cabinets)

Jason: Why wouldn’t you just measure out two cups of water into the pot and boil it?

Me: Because then I would have less than 2 cups since the boiling means water is evaporating.

Jason: *blank stare*

So I know that I am being overly logical and decide to just put 2 1/8 cups of water into a pot and boil it. So I dump out the water that I had started heating and measure 2 1/8 cups of water into the pot and turn that on. Once the water gets close to boiling, I move the bowl that I have over by the stove and grab the instant potatoes. At this point the warning bells go off again so I look at my items. The packet of potatoes surely can’t be setting of warning bells, so the problem must be the bowl.

Me: Can I use the metal mixing bowl to dump the hot water into?

Jason: *blank stare* (sometimes I wonder if I have a brain when I get this many blank stares in under 20 minutes)

Me: Oh. I guess I should use the plastic one. Thank you. I didn’t think about the metal bowl getting hot.

Jason: Why wouldn’t you just pour the instant potatoes into the pot?

Me: *blank stare* (my blank stares mean “stop thinking that I am an idiot, even if I am”)

So that is how instant mashed potatoes take 20 minutes to make. And for the record, they were really good.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Instant Mashed Potatoes… In Twenty Minutes

  1. If it’s a pyrex measuring cup, it’ll be fine with boiling water. I boil water in mine all the time (using the microwave) and have been for years. That should shave about 18 minutes off your cooking time LOL

  2. By the way, I hate my netbook with it’s finicky shift key and backspace too close to the enter button LOL

    • Zander says:

      I don’t know how you can use a netbook. I would have to go from typing to “hunt and pecking” which would take forever to write anything.

Leave a Reply

