Scre4m: Zander Does Scream

Before you read this any further, please note that there may be some unintentional spoilers in this post. If you plan on watching this movie, please do not read this any further. I will try to not spoil the movie for those of you that must read every word that I write and still plan on watching the movie, but some small spoilers may come out. Be warned now.

Once again, if you are planning on watching this movie and do not want to know anything about the movie, do not click to continue reading. I hate when people spoil movies for me, so I don’t want that to happen to you. Please do not click to read more. Hopefully, that was enough warnings.

I loved the first 3 Scream movies. The first one was ground breaking with the double killers twist and the “poke fun at itself and other horror movies” script. While some people were less than happy with the second movie and disliked the third, I found it refreshing that Wes and Kevin were able to wrap up the entire trilogy into a nice package that wove back upon itself. I think this, more than anything, was where my disappointment in Scream 4 came from.

Don’t get me wrong. I loved this movie, but it was not at all what I expected. When Scream 4 was announced a few years ago, the talk was about a new Scream trilogy. The fourth installment was supposed to use the cast from the first trilogy to tie into the new trilogy. If you have that expectation, please lose it now or you will be disappointed. If there is going to be a Scream 5 and 6, I have no idea where they are going to go with them.

The opening of the movie was good. I was confused at first when Anna Paquin and Kristen Bell appeared on the screen. I didn’t remember seeing them on the cast list. Then the real movie began and I understood. There are a couple of confusing scenes in this movie, so don’t feel bad.

Scream 4 is bloodier than the previous three. This movie seems to have a much bigger cast than the other movies, which leads to a lot more dead bodies, but also leads to less character development. In the first movie, everyone was suspicious of everyone. In this movie, no one really cared. No one was suspecting anyone and everyone reacted to the killings as if they were watching a horror movie. The constant suspicion of the characters by the characters was one of the thrilling aspects of the first movies. In all reality, this movie felt more like a spoof of the original Scream than a sequel. I would definitely say that this was not a strong beginning for a new trilogy, unless they plan on having 4 be the crossing bridge and 5 through 7 be the new trilogy. Even then, that will be a stretch because everyone in the movie is killed off.

If you are looking for a movie to give you nightmares, watch something else. If you want a witty slasher movie, you really must watch this movie. Even with my disappointments, I loved this movie. It was a worthy addition to the slasher films, but not nearly as groundbreaking as the first movie or as tied in as the second and third. If this series has any room to grow, they did not do a very good job of planting the seeds in this movie.

Leave a Reply

