CA judge to stop ‘don’t ask, don’t tell’ policy

A federal judge in California ruled that DADT is unconstitutional because it violates the First and Fifth amendments of gays and lesbians. U.S District Judge Virginia Phillips will draft the injunction to stop discharges under this policy. The Department of Justice will have a week to respond, and I think they will go for an appeal.

I have first hand knowledge about DADT. I was one of the first military men discharged under this policy. Right before DADT was enacted, I was enlisted with the Navy. Through the grapevine, the officers found out that I was gay and asked me. At the time, I had only just come out. I was loud and proud about being gay. Sometimes I think I was a bit too loud.

Anyway, as they prepared the discharge papers, Clinton pushed for gays to be allowed in the military. The Navy held off on discharging gays and lesbians until this could be work out between (then) President Clinton and Congress. Unfortunately for me and over 12,500 other people, they compromised on DADT.

They asked before this was in place and I told. They asked for a statement after this was enacted and I told them again in 4 page letter to the President and commanding officers in the Navy.

To end a long story, I was nixed by the Navy. Hopefully we have moved to the point that Clinton envisioned so many years ago.

Calif judge to stop ‘don’t ask, don’t tell’ policy | News Story on 365gay.com.

Leave a Reply

