Oakland Pride Day

I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised with Oakland Pride. I was expecting the booths to be primarily religious, political and real-estate. While these booths were there, so were plenty of other booths. One of my favorite booths was KCF Designs. They had great necklaces and other items on display. Walgreens had a display there as well and they were doing blood pressure checks. They also had a wheel to spin where I won this awesome sticker.

Smirnoff had several booths there. I was surprised to see that the gay favorite vodka Skyy was absent. That makes me proud of the fact that I typically lean towards Smirnoff vodkas.

The crowd was a good size while I was there. Everyone seemed to be happy and having a great time. At one point I was in awe when I saw this girl who was probably in her early teens. She was over by the stage while God-des was playing and the girl just broke out into a booty shake for a minute. Then she stopped with a shocked look on her face. She blushed, covered her face and broke out into hysterical giggles. I think this may have been her first booty shake in public. I’m glad Oakland offered her a place to feel comfortable enough to do this.

As the day went on, we ran into several friends at Pride. They seemed to be having a gay ole time as they wandered around the area. For those of you that missed the event this year, mark your calendars for next year so you don’t miss out. I hope that we get to celebrate Oakland Pride next year. Six years is a long time to wait to let your True Colors shine.

4 thoughts on “Oakland Pride Day

  1. I highly approve of booty shaking in public. Fo sho!

  2. […] I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised with Oakland Pride. I was expecting the booths to be primarily religious, political and real-estate. While these booths were there, so were plenty of other booths. One of my favorite booths was KCF Designs. They had great necklaces and other items on display. Walgreens had a display there as well and they were doing blood pressure checks. They also had a wheel to spin where I won this awesome sticker. … Read More […]

  3. ROBOT says:

    Nobody should have to feel embarrassed or self-conscious about having some silly harmless FUN! So, SHAKE that BOOTY, Girl! :] At a PRIDE event, you’re among FRIENDS.

  4. […] 4th, 2011. I know this is a little early, but you need to save the date. I had a lot of fun last year and I expect this year to be even […]

Leave a Reply

