Happy Anniversary to Me!

Fifteen years ago today, I got a temporary job while I was getting my feet back on the ground. I had moved across state lines with the help of my big brother and his wife. My life was in a bit of shambles and I needed a regular income while I looked for a career and tried to decide what I wanted to be when I grew up.

That temporary job was working at Kinko’s during the overnight shift. I started on August 28th, 1995. While I worked there, I took a couple of courses at IUPUI, but college life just didn’t jive with me at the time. I took on a part-time job as well working at a Marsh grocery store.

I got involved in theater, but again, it just didn’t jive with me at the time. I made friends, made drinks, made money and paid off my bills. I worked and I played and I coasted through life while looking for my career. I was still trying to figure out what I wanted to be when I grew up.

Five years passed and I kept looking. By this point I had left the part-time job at Marsh and moved on to a part-time job cooking at a local bar/restaurant. Ten years passed and we laughed about my temporary job lasting so long while I looked for a career path. I took online classes at University of Phoenix hoping to find a path or a calling.

Today, I hit my 15 year anniversary and I sit here, writing my blog and laughing while I recall these stories. My time at Kinko’s, FedEx Kinko’s, FedEx Office has been long and filled with fun and trying times. Fifteen years later I am still looking for my calling and my path, but I think I might have missed that calling while spending so many hours focused on my temporary job.

Fifteen years ago I was a different man. I was irresponsible, unfocused and drifting through life. I have threatened to leave my temporary job Kinko’s almost every year because of the need to get out. I even quit my job once for about 4 hours before being convinced to come back in the hopes of a better career. I do have a career now with FedEx Office thanks to my wonderful husband, but I still yearn for that missing path, that calling. Today I ponder that long road that started 15 years ago and continues on today.

Happy 15th anniversary to me!

4 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary to Me!

  1. Jason says:

    Wait you have another husband who’s wonderful? 😛

    Love you too.

    Jason

  2. Definition of moderate drinking: 1-3 drinks a day. I LOVE that. 🙂

  3. Ooops. I think I commented on the wrong post! Lol.

  4. Zander says:

    I don’t know how to move your comments or I would.

Leave a Reply

